[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Liberia news

Another rotation in Govt.

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf late Wednesday, 7 April effected several reshuffles in her government, rotating officials, including cabinet ministers  from one post to another, affecting five ministries, two commissions and one public corporation, among others.

An Executive Mansion release said as Government works to achieve its goals over the remaining years of the administration, there is need for strategic changes. 

The release said the Liberian leader has given due recognition and thanks to many, who have been with and stood by the Government, but who now, require new challenges worthy of their skills.

“This means opportunity for others, who would bring more dynamism and urgency to Government’s determination for more timely and effective implementation of these programs”, the release said, and added that the President has therefore, asked for all Liberians’ continued trust and confidence to help as Government tackles the next challenges and embark on the difficult road for Post-Ebola Economic Recovery.

At the Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, President Sirleaf promoted Deputy Minister and Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Bernice Dahn, Minister proper, while Dr. Francis Kateh, administrator of the Jackson F. Doe Referral Hospital in Tappita, Nimba County replaces Dr. Dahn as Deputy Minister of Health and Chief Medical Officer. Others appointed at the same ministry include Edward B. Tolbert, Deputy Minister for Administration, and the Head of the Government Incident Management System, Assistant Minister Tolbert Nyenswah has been elevated to Deputy Minister.

At the Ministry of Education, President Sirleaf appointed the Director-General  of the Civil Service  Agency, George Werner as Minister, replacing Madam Etmonia D. Tarpeh; followed by Mr. Aagon Tingba,Deputy Minister, Administration; Dr. Romelle A. Horton, Deputy Minister, Instruction; Mr. Gbovadeh Gbilia, Assistant Minister, Fiscal Affairs & Human Resource Development; Mr. Seklau Dukuly, Assistant Minister, Science, Technology, Vocational and Special Education; Mrs. Felicia Doe-Sumah, Assistant Minister, Basic and Secondary Education; Mr. Augustine Martin Kuleh,-Asst. Minister, Student Personnel Services; Mrs. Yukhiko D’Lovette Amnon, Assistant Minister, Early Childhood Education and Mr. Advertus O. Wright, Assistant Minister, Teacher Education, respectively.

The Liberian leader has appointed Dr. Puchu Leona Bernard, Deputy Director, as Director General, Civil Service Agency, and Mrs. Wanneh Clarke Reeves, Deputy Director General/ HR Mang. & Policy.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

At the Independent National Commission on Human Rights (INCHR), the President appointed Mr. Adolphus Wade as Commissioner, while at the National Commission on Disabilities, Mrs. Ricardia Dennis was appointed Executive Director, followed by Rev. Fallah Boima, Deputy Director for Administration and Mr. Joshua Bull, Deputy Director for Technical Services, respectively.

At the Internal Audit Agency, President Sirleaf appointed Mr. Clarence Williams, Deputy Director for Administration, and former Lofa County Senator Sumo Kupee has been appointed Managing Director, Liberia Petroleum Refining Company, replacing T. Nelson Williams. 

Cuttington University President, Dr. Henrique Tokpah, has been appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors, National Port Authority.

At the Ministry of Justice, the President appointed Cllr. Emmanuel Tulay, Deputy Minister for Economic Affairs; Cllr. Harriette G. Badio,Deputy Minister for Codification; Attorney Frederick Gbemie, Assistant Minister for Administration, and Attorney Kou Dorliae,Assistant Minister for Economic Affairs.

The Liberian leader has also appointed the Deputy Director at the Environmental Protection Agency, Mr. Stephen Neufville, as Deputy  Ministry of Internal Affairs for Urban Affairs, replacing Mr. Amos Tweh, who is the Youth Wing Chair for the governing Unity Party.

At the Ministry of Public Works, those appointed by the President include: Mr. Ousman Kamara, Assistant Minister for Administration;  Mr. William Slour, Assistant Minister for Operations; Mr. N. Pawon Baoyue, Assistant Minister for Planning and Programming; and Mr. Sumoiwuo Zizi Harris, Assistant Minister for Rural Development, respectively.

The President also appointed Mr. Lance Gbagonyon as Assistant Minister for Youth Development at the Ministry of Youth and Sports, replacing Mr. Teeko Yorlay, who the release said goes abroad for further studies

Meanwhile, President Sirleaf has reconstituted the Monrovia Consolidated School System Board with the following personalities: Mrs. Hester Williams Catakaw, Cllr. Rosemarie James, Mrs. Christine Norman, Ms. Alveria Morris-Raynes, Mr. Charles S. N’Tow, Ms. Hawa Norris, Mr. Emmanuel O. Kparh, and Mother Mary N. Brownell – Advisor.

Additionally, she has constituted the National Education Advisory Board which the release said, comprise of: Five Members of the County School Boards (to be provided by MoE); Chairperson of the Monrovia Consolidated School System (to be provided by MCSS); the President of the Principal Association of Liberia; (to be provided by MoE); the President of the National Teachers Association of Liberia (MoE); the President of the Parent Teacher Association of Liberia (MoE) Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Russell (the President); the Executive Secretary of the Association of Liberian Universities (MoE); One Representative of the Federation of Labor Union (MoL); the President of Liberian National Students Union (MoE); one Representative from the Civil Service Association; (Civil Service); one Representative from the Chamber of Commerce; (Chamber of Commerce); one Representative from the Association of Private School Operators (MoE); the National Head of the West Africa Examination Council (MoE) and  one Representative from the Technical and Vocational Education Training Institute (MoE & MY&S), respectively.

At the same time, the President has constituted the Paynesville City Council with the following personalities as members: Mr. Abel Voker, Mr. Nowai Gorlorwulu, Mr. Massaquoi Kamara; Mr. James Davies; Ms. Alice Baysah; Mr. Formbah Trawally; Mrs. Lorpu Kandakai; Mrs. Zoe Baker and Ms. Cyvette Gibson.

Meanwhile, the Liberian leader has dissolved the entire Board of the Liberia Airport Authority in order to ensure effectiveness in an effort to modernize airports’ facilities. The LAA Board is to be reconstituted in the shortest possible time, the release concluded.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button