[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Liberia news

APRM chair applauds participants

Liberia’s Foreign Minister and head of the Liberian delegation at the just ended African Union Summit, Hon. Augustine Ngafuan, has applauded the Participating Heads of State and Government of the African Peer Review Forum, for the successful conclusion of the 22nd Summit of the APRM. 

The APRM is an initiative of the African Union (AU) that fosters the adoption of policies, standards and practices leading to political stability, economic growth, sustainable development and economic integration.

Minister Ngafuan said the discussions amongst member countries in all the various background meetings and the main event were constructive and productive.  

On the accession of la  Cote d’Ivoire  to the APR Forum following the signature of the accession document by President Alassane Ouattara, Minister Ngafuan thanked President Ouattara for the bold decision and joined other Heads of State in calling for more countries to accede to the APRM.

The 35-member mechanism voted to appoint a new Chief Executive Officer, Nigerian born Dr. Adebayo Olukoshi, who replaces Dr. Ibrahma Mayaki, interim CEO. By this appointment, four other divisional vacancies were filled, following the endorsement of the recommendation of the Committee of Focal Points. 

Under the guidance of  South African President Jacob Zuma, who acted as Chairperson of the Forum in the absence of Forum Chairperson President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, the Forum unanimously voted to appoint two new members of the Panel of Eminent Persons of the APRM, Madame Bridgette Sylvia Mabandla of South Africa and Chief Mrs. Chinyere E. Asika of Nigeria.

The Forum unanimously decided to extend the tenure of the Chair and the Deputy Chair of the Panel to June 2015, to allow for the election of new Chair and Deputy Chairpersons.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

The Forum expressed appreciation for progress made toward the integration of the APRM in AU structures and processes, consistent with the mandate of June 2014 Malabo AU Summit, which culminated into the adoption of a five-point Roadmap for the integration process. 

At the same time, the Republic of Kenya has been unanimously elected to serve as Vice Chairperson of the APRM Forum, a void that has remained opened for many  years. 

Announcing the decision of the African Peer Review Forum at the 24 Assembly of the African Union in Addis Ababa, Minister Ngafuan informed the Assembly that President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Chairperson of the APR Forum, was unable to attend the meeting due to the necessity of seeing out what he called “the last but very critical mile in the fight against Ebola in Liberia”.

“President Sirleaf is on the home-front personally directing the fight from the frontlines”, he told the AU Assembly.

He concluded by thanking Dr. Mayaki for his exceptional work and achievement during his interim assignment.

The January 29, 2015 APR Forum meeting brought together three Heads of State and over 30 representations of governments on the continent. 

Liberia’s President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf currently chairs the APR Forum, with the Minister of Finance and Development Planning, Hon. Amara Konneh, Chairing the Committee of Focal Points.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button