Below the Header Ad
FootballFootball Cat

Coach Butler names 22-man squad for Nigeria, C.A.R.

Above Article Ad

By Naneka Hoffman 

Liberia’s head coach Peter Butler names three uncapped players in a 22-men squad ahead of  2022 final World Cup qualifiers against Nigeria and Central African Republic (CAR).

The list includes: Watanga FC Goalkeeper Derrick Julu, Defenders Mark Pabai of PEC Zwolle in the Netherlands and Jamal Arago of Sabail FK in Azerbaijan are three uncapped players. 

The PEC Zwolle Player Mark Pabai has finally accepted to play for Liberia, having first been invited for the back-to-back 2021 African Cup of Nations qualifiers with Chad in October 2019. 

The 21-year-old Defender moved to the Netherlands with his family at the age of six years. 

Arago featured for Black Satellites in the 2013 qualifiers for the Africa Youth Championship but didn’t make the final squad due to injury.

The New Dawn Liberia The New Dawn Liberia

The 28-year-old has made two under-20 friendly caps for Ghana and booked the opportunity to play for Liberia through his grandmother’s influence.

Others are Goalkeeper Boison Wynney de Souza, Midfielder Justin Paul Salmon, Striker Peter Wilson, and Sylvanus Nimely, who have been called to join Coach Butler’s squad. 

The Lone Star of Liberia will take on the Super Eagles of Nigeria on 13 November and play the Central African Republic on 16 November at the Stade Ibn Batouta in Tangiers, Morocco. 

The 22- man squad is shortlisted below:

Goalkeepers: Derrick Julu (Watanga FC), Tommy Songo (LISCR FC), and Boison Wynney de Souza (FC Someșul Dej, Romania)  

Defenders: Sampson Dweh and Ben Benaiah (LPRC Oilers); Alvin Maccornel and Carlos Williams (Watanga FC); Prince Balde (FC Drita, Kosovo), Jamal Arago (Sabail FK, Azerbaijan) and Mark Pabai (PEC Zwolle, Netherlands) 

Midfielders: Abrahim Mohammed “Brem” Soumaoro (PAEEK FC, Cyprus), Seth Kanteh Hellberg (IK Brage, Sweden), Allen Njie (FC Aarau, Switzerland), Marcus Macauley (Sahab FC, Jordan), Oscar Murphy Dorley (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Justin Paul Salmon (Degerfors IF, Sweden) and Abu Kamara (FC Makedonija, North Macedonia) 

Forwards: Peter Wilson (Olympiakos Nicosia, Cyprus), Moussa Sanoh (CS Mioveni, Romania), Van Dave Harmon (KF Laci, Albania), Kpah Sherman (Kedah FC, Malaysia), and Sylvanus Nimely (Ilves, Finland). Editing by Jonathan Browne

Related Articles

Back to top button