Above Article Ad

Politics News

Ellen makes new appointments – 3 Ministers out

The New Dawn Liberia The New Dawn LiberiaPresident Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made cabinet reshuffle here, replacing the ministers of Public Works, Education, and Health, respectively.

The President has also reassigned several deputy ministers, directors and commissioners, affecting the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Commerce and Internal Affairs, among others.

Making the pronouncement via State broadcaster ELBC, President Sirleaf said, “as captain”, she will not hesitate to change anyone, who fails to meet expectation on a team that she hopes will take her administration to the “finished line.”

“It is my job to continuously vet a team for the challenges we currently face and those that lie ahead. And so today I announce a number of changes to the Executive Branch of Government,” she said on Sunday, November 16, 2014.

At the Ministry of Public Works, President Sirleaf appointed Mr. William Gyude Moore, as a minister along with a new deputy for administration, replacing the controversial ex-minister Antoinette Weeks.

President Sirleaf transferred Education Minister Etmonia David Tarpeh to chair the National Investment Commission; while Dr. Elizabeth Russell becomes the new Education Minister, and also brought on board Dr. Nelson Freeman, as Deputy for Administration.

A longstanding embattled Health Minister Dr. Walter T. Gwenigale, one of President Sirleaf’s controversial cabinet members has been removed to now serve as advisor in the ministry while working on the “President’s Advisory Ebola Committee, pending  his planned retirement in February.”

Dr. Gweniglae has been replaced by Mr. George Werner, who has been heading the Civil Service Agency or CSA. At the Ministry of Gender and Social Protection, Mr. Peter Roberts has been appointed deputy minister for administration.

The Liberia Broadcasting System or LBS is now being headed by Mr. Ledgerhood Rennie, replacing Mr. Ambrose Nmah; while Mr. Patrick Honnah, formerly deputy director general for rural broadcasting, steps into Mr. Rennie’s shoes as deputy director general for broadcasting. The President also appointed former deputy press secretary Mr. Christopher Sellee as deputy director general for rural communities at the LBS.

At the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Dr. Wade Brownell is appointed deputy minister for administration; while Mr. Bushuben M. Keita has been appointed deputy minister for administration at the Ministry of Transport.

The President additionally made appointments at the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, with Mr. Cyril Allen, Jr. becoming deputy minister for administration, and Mr. Mohammed Turay, assistant minister for industry.

At the National Aids Commission, the President appointed Mr. Stanley Eastman as Commissioner. The Liberian leader also made several appointments at the Ministries of Youth and Sports, and Lands, Mines and Energy, respectively.

Finally, Andy Qumie has been appointed as deputy minister for administration at the Information Ministry, replacing Mr. Norris Tweh; while Ms Horrace Kollie has been appointed deputy minister for operation at the Ministry of Internal Affairs.

Meanwhile, the President has announced that more reshuffles will be made in coming days.


(As Delivered)

My fellow Liberians:

Even as we continue to combat the Ebola virus and strive to achieve our national objective of zero-new-cases by Christmas, we must also attend to what will be a difficult job of recovery –recovery to the health care system so that we deliver health care services all across the country and are better prepared for any epidemic of the size and scale of Ebola; recovery to the economy so that we are repositioned to produce more opportunities and afford decent and better living conditions for all our people; recovery to governance so that notwithstanding the superficial

differences which haunt the body politic, we can still remain enjoined behind the common purpose of national healing and reconstruction. This requires a team that is adaptable, responsive, disciplined, loyal, and focused – a team that is understanding of the prevailing challenges, and are resolved to respond by taking appropriate risks to get things done on time. It is my job to continuously vet and ready such a team for the challenges we currently face and those that lie ahead.

And so today, I announce a number of changes to the Executive Branch of the Government.

A few are transferred or reassigned, signifying our recognition of their capabilities and performance. Others are dropped from where they served, but will be given appropriate opportunities to continue to serve the country. I am deeply grateful for the services and contribution of all of those we who have served or continue to serve.

We are not short on expectation that going forward, each working day – indeed each working hour – will be spent not only on catching up and continuing with the transformational agenda of the country but also to exploring creative new approaches by which we deliver on the agenda within the limited time of our stewardship.

My hope is that this team will take us to the finish line. But make no mistake: As Captain, I will not hesitate to change anyone who fails to meet our expectations.

With these remarks, I am pleased to make the following initial appointments, others to follow at a subsequent time:

Ministry of Public Works
Mr. William Gyude Moore – Minister
Mr. Roland Giddings – Deputy Minister for Administration

Ministry of Education
Dr. Elizabeth Davis-Russell – Minister
Dr. Nancy Freeman – Deputy Minister for Administration
Mr. Anthony Nimely – Deputy Minister for Planning, Research and Development

National Investment Commission
Mrs. Etmonia David Tarpeh – Chairperson

Ministry of Health
Mr. George Werner – Minister

Ministry of Gender, Children & Social Protection
Mrs. Julia Duncan-Cassell – Minister
Mr. Peter Roberts – Deputy Minister for Administration
Mrs. Sienne Abdul-Baki – Deputy Minister for Gender
Mrs. Mardia Martin Wiles – Deputy Minister for Policy, Planning & Technical Services
Mrs. Lydia Sherman – Deputy Minister for Children and Social Protection

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Dr. Wede Brownell – Deputy Minister for Administration
Ms. Albratha Doe – Assistant Minister for Foreign Affairs

Ministry of Transport
Mr. Bushuben M. Keita – Deputy Minister for Administration

Ministry of Commerce & Industry
Mr. Cyril Allen, Jr. – Deputy Minister for Commerce
Mr. Mohammed Turay – Assistant Minister for Industry

National AIDS Commission
Ms. Candace Eastman – Commissioner
(replacing Ms. Wessehdi Sio-Njoh)

Ministry of Youth & Sports
Mr. Ramses Kumbuyah – Deputy Minister for Administration
(replacing Ms. Jacqueline Capehart)

Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy
Mr. Zack Sharpe – Deputy Minister for Administration

Ministry of Information
Mr. Andrew Tehmeh – Deputy Minister for Administration
(to replace Norris Tweah who moves on to the University of Liberia)

Ministry of Internal Affairs
Ms. Gbemie Horace Kollie – Deputy Minister for Operations3
(replacing Mr. Ranney Jackson)

Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications
Ms. Margretta Smith-General – Assistant Minister for Administration
(replacing Mr. James Cooper)

Liberia Broadcasting System
Mr. Ledgerhood Rennie – Director General
Mr. Patrick Honnah – Deputy Director General for Broadcasting
Mr. Christopher Sellee – Deputy Director General for Rural Comms

The special word on the change in the Ministry of Health. Dr. Gwenigale will continue to serve as Advisor until his planned retirement in February.

Check Also
Back to top button