Below the Header Ad

Ellen Makes Several Appointments

Above Article Ad

President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf has made several appointments in government, affecting the Ministries of State for Presidential Affairs, Transport, Education, Information, Defense, Foreign Affairs and Internal Affairs.

Others affected are the Liberia Petroleum Refining Company, Executive Protection Service and National Security Agency. A National Steering Committee on Climate Change has also been constituted.

These appointments are subject to confirmation by the Liberian Senate where applicable. State for Presidential Affairs State without Portfolio Minister Sylvester Grigsby is now the new Minister of State for Presidential Affairs, while the Rev. Sando E. Townsend becomes the new Religious Advisor to the President.

Also appointed last Friday by the President are Samuel Wlue, Minister of Transport, while Mr. Gbovadeh G. Gbilia was named Deputy Minister for Planning, Research and Development at the Ministry of Education.

Also appointed at the Education Ministry are Mr. Saa David Nyuma, Jr. – Assistant Minister for Planning, Research and Development, Ms. Florence Allen-Jones – Assistant Minister for Early Childhood Education and Ms. LalataNeufville Wei – Assistant Minister for Fiscal Affairs and Human Resource Development.

At the Ministry of Information, Culture and Tourism, University Lecturer and Attorney-at-Law Bobby Livingstone is now the new Deputy Minister for Public Affairs. The President has also appointed former Internal Affairs Minister Morris Dukuly as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Liberia Petroleum Refining Company, Sam Gaye, Director of the Executive Protective Services, while former Director Frank Nyekan goes to the National Security Agency as Consultant.

Also appointed are Mrs. WillyeMai Tolbert King, Liberia’s Ambassador to La Cote d’Ivoire andMs. Angela Cassell-Bush, Ambassador. Others are Col. Prince C. Johnson, III – Deputy Chief of Staff of the Armed Forces of Liberia to be promoted to the rank of Brigadier General and Lt. Col. Davidson Forley – Currently the Commandant of the Armed Force Training Command (AFTC) has been appointed as the Brigade Commander and is to be promoted to the rank of Colonel.

Other appointments, especially at the Ministry of Internal Affairs, are Moses JanjayTinko Bull – Assistant Superintendent for Development, Grand Bassa County, John Karlor – Commissioner, Juarzon County District, Frederick N. Koffa -District Inspector, Juarzon Statutory District, A. Menjay and Wleh – City Mayor, Mexico City, Juarzon Stat. District in Sinoe County. Other appointments in Sinoe County are Isaac B. Quetoh – Township Commissioner, Tobo Township, Joe D. Weego Harmon – Township Commissioner, Chelor Township, Harry Dorbor – Township Commissioner and Needweh Township.

In Maryland County, President Sirleaf also appointed Gyude Brown – City Mayor, Harper City. Meanwhile, she has named the membership of the National Steering Committee on Climate Change as the Environmental Protection Agency, Forestry Development Authority, Ministry of Lands, Mines and Energy, Ministry of Transport, as well as the Ministry of Gender and Development.

Related Articles

Back to top button