Below the Header Ad

Ellen rotates officials again

Above Article Ad

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has made several appointments and re-cycled some members of her Cabinet, affecting the Ministries of Foreign Affairs, Internal Affairs; Information, Culture & Tourism, Youth and Sports; Lands, Mines and Energy; Public Works, Transport, Post and Telecommunications, respectively.

The President’s appointments also affect the Independent National Commission on Human Rights, Public Procurement and Concessions Commission, Law Reform Commission, Executive Protection Service and the Judiciary.

It has become a practice by Madam Sirleaf, like her recent predecessors, to move ineffective officials from one post to another with no significant results. These appointments however, are subject to confirmation by the Liberian Senate, where applicable.

According to the Executive Mansion, the government chief spokesperson, Information Minister Lewis G. Brown, has been relieved of his post and appointed as Ambassador, while the Minister of Youth and Sports Lenn Eugene Nagbe, has been nominated to replace Brown.

Others include Marjon Kamara, Minister-designate, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; J. Wesley Washington, Assistant Minister for Public Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs; Dr. Henrique Tokpah, Minister-designate, Ministry of Internal Affairs; and Saah N’Tow, Minister-designate, Ministry of Youth and Sports, replacing Lenn Eugene Nagabe.

Also appointed are: Kansualism B. Kansuah, Assistant Minister for Land and Rail Transport, Ministry of Transport; Edsel Smith, Assistant Minister for Construction, Ministry of Public Works; Abu Kamara, Assistant Minister for Administration, Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications; and Mr. Joseph Howe, Assistant Minister for Energy, Ministry of Lands, Mines & Energy.

The President has also appointed Commissioners at the Independent National Commission on Human Rights, including Adolphus Wade, Ms. Tonia Wiles, Wilfred Gray Johnson, and Rev. Bartholomew Colley.

Mr. Boakai Kanneh has been named member of the Law Reform Commission, while the following individuals have been appointed on the Board of Commissioners for the Public Procurement and Concessions Commission or PPCC. They include: Willie Belleh, Chairman and John Ballout, Member, replacing Mr. Catakaw.

Ms. Rose Stryker has been appointed Assistant Director for the elite Presidential guard, Executive Protective Services or EPS, and at the Judiciary, President Sirleaf appoints Mr. Edwin C. Walker, Jr. as Public Notary for Montserrado County. Press Release

Related Articles

Back to top button