[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

GeneralLiberia news

Facial Harris decries women’s under-representation in government

Madam Facia Boyenoh Harris has decried women’s under-representation in the country’s body politics and national decision-making process.

Ms. Harris is the 2022 recipient of the United States Women of Courage Award and Executive Director of the Paramount Young Women Initiative (PAWOWI).

On Wednesday, 8 March 2023, Secretary of State Antony J. Blinken and First Lady Jill Biden hosted the annual International Women of Courage (IWOC) Awards ceremony at the White House. 

The 2023 IWOC Award ceremony honored a group of 11 extraordinary women from around the world who are working to build a brighter future for all.

The ceremony was graced by last year’s (2022) winner who was unable to travel to the United States for the award due to the outbreak of COVID-19.

The International Women of Coverage Award 2022 was awarded to Rizwana Hasan (Bangladesh)Simone Sibilio do Nascimento (Brazil)Ei Thinzar Maung (Burma) Josefina Klinger Zúñiga (Colombia)Taif Sami Mohammed (Iraq) Facia Boyenoh Harris (Liberia) Najla Mangoush (Libya) Doina Gherman (Moldova)Bhumika Shrestha (Nepal)Carmen Gheorghe (Romania) Roegchanda Pascoe (South Africa) Phạm Đoan Trang (Vietnam).

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button