Above Article Ad

Politics News

Internal crisis rocks LP

Emerging developments appear to show that opposition Liberty Party (LP) is sinking in serious crisis, with stalwarts, executives and partisans bitterly divided over the election of Grand Bassa County Sen. Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence over the weekend as LP’s new Standard Bearer.

Defeated LP former Standard Bearer Cllr. Charles Walker Brumskine who hails from Grand Bassa County reportedly turned over the party’s top position to Senator Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence, also of Grand Bassa County over the weekend.

An LP executive and former legislative contender in the 2017 elections Mr. Maxwell Grisby claims that the action of a few individuals within the party is clear that the party is heading to a one tribe party.

Defeated presidential candidate Cllr. Brumskine’s deputy, Mr. Harrison Karnwea and a faction of the party that is loyal to the latter are claiming that the action of Cllr. Brumskine is in total contravention of the party’s standing constitution and guidelines.

Following the action of Cllr. Brumskine, Nimba County former Development Superintendent Teeko T. Yorlay told a radio station in Monrovia Monday, 23 April that the decision was solely the making of Cllr. Brumskine and the National Executive Committee.

But newly elected National Chairman Darius Dillon, who replaced Benjamin Sanvee, denies the information.

Mr. Dillon says every unit, department, grouping and auxiliary of the party is contacted and formally communicated to [about the process], but some people allegedly choose to stay for reason best known to them.

Newly-created National Advisory Council of the opposition LP unanimously elected Sen. Karnga-Lawrence over the weekend as new Political Leader, replacing Cllr. Brumskine, a third time defeated presidential candidate.

The decision was taken in Voinjama, Lofa County, when the LP held its National Executive Council (NEC) sitting as provided for in Article 8, Section 5 of its constitution.

It stipulates that the NEC is the highest decision-making body of the party in the absence of a National Convention. It is presided over by its Political Leader and comprises of chairpersons of the 15 counties, the immediate past Chairperson of the Party, members of the Party’s Legislative Caucus, all National Vice Chairpersons, the National Secretary-General, National Treasurer and other Stakeholders.

Former Campaign CEO Musa Hassan Bility was nominated and confirmed to head the Advisory Council, while Senators Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence and Steve Zargo were elected Political Leader and National Chairman respectively.

Others elected to the LP NEC include: Madam Rugie Barry, Vice Chair for Administration; Abraham Darius Dillon, Vice Chair for Political Affairs; Jacob Smith , Secretary General ; Mrs. Carmenia Abdallah , National Treasurer and E. Augustine Fredericks , National Vice Chair for Membership.

Other elected officials include Dr. H. Marcus Speare , National Vice Chair for Education, Policies and Program, Martin Kollah, National Vice Chair for Planning; Elder Jallah , Vice Chair for Operations and Technology ; Losene Bility , Vice Chair for External Affairs, Prince Toles, Vice Chair for Mobilization and Cllr. Powo Hilton, Vice Chair for Legal Affairs.

The rest of the elected officials are Kwame Ross, Vice Chair for Auxiliary Affairs, Kla-Edward Toomey, II, Deputy Secretary General for Press and Propaganda, and James Yougie, Deputy Secretary General for Operations and Technology, among others.

By E. J. Nathaniel Daygbor– Edited by Winston W. Parley

Check Also
Back to top button