Below the Header Ad

LBA sets election for Wednesday

Above Article Ad

The New Dawn Liberia The New Dawn LiberiaThe electoral commission of the Liberia Basketball Association has set February 18, 2015 for voting which is being described by many as white ballot poll.

Already, the commission has qualified six candidates to vie for various positions.


Electoral commission chair Jerome M. Hodge, said, in keeping with general regulations and guidelines of the LBA, the six candidates have met all necessary requirements to contest Wednesday’s poll.

Candidates in the race are: T. Rufus Anderson, vying  for the presidency; Fred Ted, vice presidency; Bruce W. Quaye,  vice president for operations; Abiodu Thomas,  for treasurer, Jairus J. Harris,  for the financial secretary post and  Isaac Smith, for the  chaplain position respectively.

The Rufus Anderson-led administration at the Liberia Basketball Association has been under mounting pressure from club presidents association.

They had accused Anderson, who is seek re-election, of delayed tactics in the presentation of congress documents to stakeholders.

An executive for the group, Malcolm Wleemogar Joseph, said Anderson wants to remain in power so he is delaying to present congress document to members of the association.

He said as per agreement reached between the Club Presidents and the Rufus Anderson administration in the presence of  Deputy Youth and Sports Minister, Henry Yonton, and the Liberia National Olympic Committee (LNOC) President, Philibert Brown on January 27, the outgoing LBA President should have made available congress documents to stakeholders by February 2, 2015, but he is yet to do so.

Deputy Minister Yonton has also confirmed that the LBA leadership has not presented any document to his office as agreed upon.

But the Clubs President Association, which is the leading contributor to the welfare of basketball in Liberia, said it will not honor any electoral guidelines from the Anderson administration in the absence of a General Assembly.

There is a high possibility that if the administration does not provide the documents on time, club presidents would set up an interim administration to lead to congress and elections.

At the same time Joseph has said the LBA Club Presidents will seriously reject the participation of the fourteen clubs recently admitted by Rufus Anderson into the third division on grounds that they are non-members and as such they are not eligible to partake in the elections.

“How can teams that have not participated in any of the Leagues be members of the association? They have not played yet; we will rescind their participation”, Joseph said.

Recently, Anderson cleared 14 third division clubs, although their league suffered a force majeure.

Clubs affected include: Destiny Kings (Julius Lewis), Star One (Myers Hinneh), Island Clippers (Samuel Bing), Bong Shooters (Jean Murray), Island Claves (Stephen N. Tugbeh), Buchanan Braves (Milton Quaye) and Harbel Tappers (Vincent S. T. Willie).

Others are Mamba Point Legends (Abdallah M. Housseini), Cape Mount Wizards (Elizabeth S. B. Corneh), Fire (McDonald Marshall), Ben Curser Pioneers (Samuel L. Nugba), HISSO (Abigail Freeman), Invincible Invaders (Teddy Swaray) and Junior Rookies (Tristen Varflay).

By Sally Gaye

Related Articles

Back to top button