Politics News

Liberia retires 10 diplomats

Liberia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has retired ten diplomats following their long service in the diplomatic sector. A press release issued in Monrovia Tuesday, 2 August says the the retirement ceremony took place at the Foreign Ministry’s C. Cecil Dennis, Jr. Auditorium at Sinkor 1st street in Monrovia. The event brought together ministers, diplomats, directors and families of the honorees.

The Foreign Ministry says President Ellen Johnson – Sirleaf thanks  the retirees for their services and commitment to country and families, associates, and workmates for standing behind them.

“To all of you it was an opportunity to benefit from your commitment to country, a big thank you”. “As you go into retirement, there’s a  life beyond,” she says jokingly. “I’m heading down the road you [are] on as there’s going to be a life for me after retirement”, Mrs. Sirleaf adds, and assures the ten retirees of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs that their departure from government doesn’t mean that one is forgotten.

For her part, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Marjon V. Kamara used the occasion to express heartfelt appreciation to all the honorees on behalf of the Government and people of Liberia.

She acknowledges the great personal sacrifices that the honorees have made as they diligently discharged their duties, thus giving the best years of their lives to the service. In response, Liberia’s longest serving foreign service diplomat, Senior Ambassador-At-Large Amb. Marcus M. Kofa says he and his colleagues are grateful to President Sirleaf for the decision to provide a cushion for their soft landing from active public service to the quietude of a private life.

“This has been the realization of our greatest desire to retire with a secured future and respect,” he says. Also speaking at the ceremony, National Social Security and Welfare Corporation (NASSCORP) Director-General Mr. Dewitt von-Ballmoos thanked the honorees for their service to country and welcomed them into the NASSCORP family.

Mr. Johnny A. McClain, former Ambassador to Côte d’Ivoire; Mr. Francis Karpeh, former Ambassador to Belgium; Mr. Andrew W. Kronyanh, former Ambassador-designate to Italy; Mr. Marcus M. Kofa, Senior Ambassador-At-Large; and Dr. Edward G.H. Clinton, former Ambassador-At-Large are among those retired and honored.

Others are Mr. Ben Sie-Toe Collins, former Minister Counselor, Liberia’s Embassy in Pretoria, South Africa; Mr. Morris Momo Karneh, former Minister Counselor, Liberia’s Embassy in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire; Mr. Christopher Nippy, former First Secretary, Liberia’s Embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A.; Ms. Catherine Nmah, former Second Secretary, Liberia’s Embassy in Washington, D.C., U.S.A.; and Mr. Moses A. Deshield, Third Secretary, Liberia’s Embassy in Freetown, Sierra Leone. –Press release

Back to top button