Above Article Ad

Other Sports

OSA Inducts New Officers

The Oilers Sport Association (OSA) has inducted new corps of officers to lead the Association in the coming years. Those inducted on Friday, March 8, 2013, were James Jappah, President; Edward Harris, Vice President; George Pussah, General Secretary; and John Lebeah, Treasurer, respectively.

Speaking at the induction ceremony, Montserrado County Junior Sen. Geraldine Doe-Sheriff, who is a former President of OSA, stressed the need for support to sporting bodies as sports help in building a society of peace and love.

Serving as keynote speaker, Senator Doe-Sheriff called on other companies in the country to emulate the good example of the LPRC family by supporting teams in the Liberia Football Association national league.

She said during her tenure as President, the Oilers Sport Association did not only paid players, but sent them to school and also provided them employment. The Senator called on authorities of the LPRC to improve incentives for players as the economic realities of today are totally different from the past.

She also called on the Chief Patron of Sports President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf to support sports in the country, adding that the aim of OSA is to make sure that the teams are second to none in Liberia. Senator Doe-Sheriff challenged the new leadership to live up to that.

Also speaking on activities marking the International Women Day over the weekend in Monrovia, she said it is time for the Oilers family to collaborate with a female counterpart Teto Sister as a way of encouraging women football in Liberia.

She said Teto Sister was founded by LPRC and has been there for the football team so it was time incorporated team into Oilers Sports Association. Speaking at the program, President-elect Mr. James Jappah, promised to take OSA to the next stage under his leadership to make it one of the best in the LFA and LBA national leagues.

Jappah noted that Oilers has a great history having won the LFA championship five times and is the only Liberian side to reach the quarter finals of  any Confederation of African Football (CAF) competition, while the basketball team is the five times championship holders of the Liberia Basketball Association (LBA) national league.

He said with discipline, determination and commitment from the players they will strive to succeed. The Oilers Sports Association was founded in 1975 with Madam Nelly Anderson as its first President and senator Cletus S. Wotorson, first chief patron, respectively.

Historically, Oilers had emerged as champions of the Liberia Football Association national league four times (1992, 1995, 1999 and 2005). They are on record as the only Liberian side to reach the quarter finals of the Confederation of African Football (CAF) competition in 1988 after eliminating Panthere of cameroun and Asci Abengorou of Ivory Coast.

Check Also
Back to top button