Below the Header Ad

PYJ, others record low performances

Above Article Ad

A pro – democracy legislative monitoring group here, the Institute for Research and Democratic Development (IREDD), has released its quarterly report on the performance and participation of lawmakers at the Legislature.

At a news conference Wednesday, 10 April, IREDD Executive Director Mr. Harold Marvin Aidoo says the quarterly report flags lawmakers that earned the lowest mark in performance and participation.

Senators with the lowest for this period include Prince Y. Johnson, (Nimba County); Marshall Dennis, (Grand Gedeh County); Edward B. Dagoseh, (Lofa County); and Thomas Grupee, (Nimba County).

The report also highlights that Grand Cape Mount County Sen. Edward BoakaiDagoseh’s alleged underperformance is due to protracted illness.

For the House of Representatives, IREDD names Zoe Emmanuel Pennue, (Grand Gedeh County) Vincent S. T. Willie, (Grand Bassa County); Hans Barchue, (Grand Bassa County) and Bob H. Sheriff, (Grand Cape Mount county).

IREDD further names Dr. George S. Bolley, (Grand Gedeh County), Nathaniel N. Bahway, Sr., (Grand Kru County); Francis Saywon Young, (River Gee County); Mambu M. Sonni, (Grand Cape Mount County) and Morris Lawrence, (Montserrado County).

According to IREDD, all of these lawmakers got below average by obtaining 47.23% or “F” in Plenary Attendance and Participation.

According to Aidoo, for the period under review, nine legislations were passed by the Liberian Senate.

Of the nine legislations, IREDD states that the Senate concurred with the House of Representatives on six legislations.

“Our research also recorded five senators who introduced bills at the Liberian Senate. Among the five Senators, Senator Varney G. Sherman of Grand Cape Mount County introduced three bills constituting the highest,” Mr. Aidoo says.

Further, IREDD says it recorded a total of 25 communications at the level of the Liberian Senate, 16 of which came from senators, while seven came from President George Manneh Weah. Three of the 25 communications came from the public.
The report indicates that Sen. NyonbleeKarnga Lawrence of Grand Bassa County wrote the highest communications among Senators.

It says she wrote three communications, followed by Sen. George TambaTengbeh of Lofa County and Sen. Sando D. Johnson of Bomi County, each of them wrote two communications.

At the House of Representatives, IREDD reports that a total of 55 communications were recorded.

Of this number, IREDD indicates that 40 or 72.7% came from representatives, 12 or 21.8% came from the public and three or 5.45% came from President Weah.

The report says 30 representatives wrote communications during the period under review, including Representatives Clarence Massaquoi of Lofa, Munah Pelham Youngblood of Montserrado, Crayton Duncan of Sinoe, Francis Dopoh of River Gee and Dixon Seboe of Montserrado, respectively.

Others include Representatives Ben Fofana of Margibi, Larry Younquoi of Nimba, J. Nagbe Sloe of Sinoe, DorwohnGleekia of Nimba, Vincent Willie of Grand Bassa, Ivar Jones of Margibi, Matthew Joe of Grand Bassa, and Prince Tokpah of Nimba.By E. J. Nathaniel Daygbor–Edited by Winston W. Parley

Related Articles

Back to top button