[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Liberia news

Sen. Weah, others get ECOWAS posts

The plenary of the just-ended 4th Session of the ECOWAS Parliament held in Abuja, Federal republic of Nigeria has endorsed the appointment of members of the Liberian delegation to the following committees: Sinoe County Representative Jefferson Kanmoh,

3rd deputy speaker; Montserrado County Sen. George Weah, head of committee on labour, employment, youth, sports and culture; Nimba County Sen. Prince Johnson, member, committee on political affairs, peace, security and African peer review mechanism; Lofa County Representative HajaSiryou, 2nd rapporteur, committee on gender, women empowerment and social protection, and Representative Edwin Melvin Snowe, Jr., vice chairman, committee on finance, administration, budget control and audit, respectively.

Addressing a press conference here Tuesday, 16 February upon the delegation’s return from Abuja, Rep. Kanmoh said the purpose of the 4th Session was to elect leadership of the parliament, constitute various standing committees and adopt the rules of procedures that will guide the functions of the parliament.

Related Articles

With the responsibility imposed on him as 3rd deputy speaker of the ECOWAS Parliament, Rep, Kanmoh has graciously requested his colleagues on the delegation to relieve him of the duties of chairman of the delegation with Sen. George Weah named as new chair for the Liberian delegation.

Sen. Weah has expressed his willingness to work with youths in the subregion to encourage them to acquire vocational education to be able to do something for themselves. 

By Bridgett Milton

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button