[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Liberia news

Sherman resigns today?

If the rather paranoid Grand Cape Mount County Senator, Cllr. Varney Sherman would live up to his September 3, 2016, communication to plenary, seeking vote of confidence from his colleagues to maintain his post as Chair of the Senate Committee on Judiciary amid his criminal indictment or relinquish the responsibility, he should tender in his letter of resignation today in session.

Sherman resigns

“If at this time the Liberian Senate no longer has confidence in me to continue to serve, I shall be glad to quietly relinquish the post. I implore the understanding of the Liberian Senate for this vote of confidence. I also request that the vote of confidence takes place at plenary on Tuesday, 06 September 2016,” Senator Sherman pleaded to his colleagues.

Though the letter created serious debate, but the plenary of the Liberian Senate Tuesday failed to act accordingly as the debate ended in deadlock with understanding that it may continue today, Thursday, September 8.

Based on the utterances of River Gee County Senator Conmany Wesseh and Maryland County Senator Dan Morias during Tuesday’s session, it seems obviously clear Sherman may not get the confidence vote, which he desperately needs to be reassured of their trust despite his indictment, leaving him in a very tight corner with very limited option, if any at all, other than to quit as he had implied in his communication.

Both senators believe resignation is the honorable thing for Senator Sherman to do which would enable him to exonerate himself from all charges brought by the State. Anything short of this could indicate the renowned Liberian Lawyer and Senator should not be taken seriously in his public utterances as his letter requested a precise date for plenary to act in his favor, which is very unusual in Liberian Legislative practices.

As plenary remains the highest decision making body of the Upper House, not even President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf can compel that august body when a bill, agreement or letter should be read or voted upon.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Of the 30 members of the senate, 14 are already opposed to the decision of casting vote of confidence in Senator Sherman. Those holding this view include; Senators Conmany Wesseh, Peter Coleman, H. Dan Morias, J. Milton Teahjay, Nyonblee Karnga Lawrence and Jonathan Kaipee. Others are Mashall Dennis, George Tengbeh, Steve Zargo, Joseph Nagbe, Henry Yallah and Jim Tornolah.

On the other hand, 11 senators are in favor of a vote of confidence for Sherman, including Alphonso Gaye, Matthew Jaye, Morris Saytumah, Sando Johnson, Edward Diagoseh, Daniel Naahten, Jewel Howard Taylor, Thomas Grupee, Oscar Cooper and the petitioner (Varney Sherman) himself.

Four senators were absent during Tuesday’s session namely; Senators Prince Johnson, Geralding Doe Sherif, George Weah and Dallas Guah, while Presiding Officer and Senate President Pro-tempore Armah Jallah did not have the opportunity to participate in the process.

However, there are fresh reports that Senators Prince Johnson of Nimba and Geraldine Doe Sherif of Montserrado Counties are against Sherman’s request for vote of confidence.

By E. J. Nathaniel Daygbor -Editing by Jonathan Browne

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button