Below the Header Ad

Slipway, Crown Hill communities get new leadership

Above Article Ad

The people of Slipway and Crown Hill communities have inducted a new leadership to steer the affairs of both communities for the next two years.

Speaking at the induction ceremony Sunday held at the Slipway Elementary School in Monrovia, Acting Minster of Public Works, Ruth Coker Collins, challenged the leadership to be transparent and accountable to the people.

Minister Collins stated that resources available should be used for the development of the people and the community.

She indicated that lack of transparency and accountability have undermined growth and development in several communities across the country, but hoped the new leadership at Slipway will exhibit proper accountability.

She promised that the Ministry of Public Works will work with the community leadership to foster rehabilitation of roads and drainages within the area.

Meanwhile, the Chairman of the Slipway Community, Liberian Engineer Isaac K. Krah, said the developmental package for the community will look at infrastructure, health and sanitation, including women and youth empowerment.

Engineer Krah disclosed that plans are underway to ensure proper drainage is erected at the entrance of the Slipway Community to prevent erosion.

He stressed the need for community dwellers to work along with the leadership to transform the social and economic development of the community through implementation of its developmental agenda.

He said the Isaac K. Krah Foundation will assist community youth with vocational training programs in areas such as tailoring and computer literacy, among others to enhance capacity of young people free of charge for one year.

He also promised to work with all community dwellers to seek the developmental drive of the community, noting that Slipway and Crown Hill communities have suffered setbacks in their developmental drive over the years.

Those inducted are Isaac K. Krah, Chairman; Edith Dakah Williams, Vice Chairlady; Perry K. Nyantee, Secretary General; Vabwe K. Bayouh, Assistant Secretary General, and PayeGbamie, Financial Secretary, respectively. Editing by Jonathan Browne

Related Articles

Back to top button