[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

Politics News

Thursday is ‘National Flag Day’;

President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf has by proclamation declared Thursday, August 24, 2017 as “National Flag Day,” and it is to be observed throughout the Republic as a National Holiday.

By an Act approved on October 25, 1915, the National Legislature of the Republic of Liberia declared August 24th each year as “National Flag Day” to be observed as a “National Holiday” throughout Liberia.

According to a Foreign Ministry release, the Liberian leader has called on all citizens and foreign residents within our borders to give prominence to the observance of the Day throughout the Republic by flying the National Flag from each dwelling and public building, and that all government offices, public and business houses be closed on that Day.

President Sirleaf has directed the Ministry of Education and all other government agencies concerned, to execute appropriate programs befitting the day.

The National Ensign of Liberia is a visible evidence of the country’s sovereignty and independence as well as a symbol of pride and dignity within the comity of nations.

The making of the National Flag was a historic event of great significance for Liberia, as Africa’s pacesetter in the struggle for self-determination and inspiration to future African States.

The National Flag was designed and produced by a committee of ladies, who were very talented and visionary citizens of the Republic led by Mrs. Susannah Lewis.

The Flag consists of six red stripes and five alternating white stripes, totaling eleven stripes, each representing one of the eleven signers of the Declaration of Independence of Liberia; a blue field, in the upper left corner of a rectangular form with a single white star in the center of the blue field, depicting Liberia as the then only independent state on the continent of Africa; the color red symbolizes the blood of those who died in the struggle for independence; the color white indicates the purity of mind of all our forbearers toward each other; and the blue for the dark continent of Africa as it was then depicted.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button