Below the Header Ad

Lone Star prepares for 2017

Above Article Ad

The New Dawn Liberia The New Dawn LiberiaLiberia has been drawn in group A in the Cup of Nations qualifiers for 2017 along with Tunisia, Togo, Djibouti. The draw was held recently at the headquarters of the Confederation of African Federation (CAF) in Cairo, Egypt.

Liberia is one of 52 countries to play in the 13 groups of 2017 with the final match scheduled in Gabon, host country.

Already, the Nation’s pride has begun training in Monrovia under watchful eyes of Coach James Salinsa Debbah, once the most celebrated.

The Lone Star will play host to the Eagle of Tunisia in her second match to be played here in September if Liberia will be free by then. If not, the home side would have to find a venue abroad.

On the weekend of March 23-26, 2016, the Lone Star would play her second away game in Djibouti against the Djibouti national football team, while the second leg will be played between March 26 and 29 in the Afcon qualifier 2017.

The Lone Star will also play host to the Sparrow Hawks of Togo on the weekend of June 3-5, 2016 and play her last game away in Tunis against the Carthage Eagles of Tunisia on the weekend of September 2-4, 2016.

Data between Liberia and Togo indicates the two countries have met 15 times – eight in Monrovia and seven in Lome.

The home side had defeated Togo four times, lost two and drew three, but with a very bad traveling record, losing six games and drawing one.

Liberia’s recent win (1-0) against Togo was on the 6th of September in 1994 and Togo’s most recent win was at Tunis, 3-0.

Liberia’s statistics against Tunisia show that both countries played eight games – Liberia won twice, lost four games and drew two.

On June 20, 1999 in Monrovia, Liberia defeated Tunisia 2-0; two years later, in the last encounter Tunisia thrashed Liberia 7-2 in Tunis.

 The Lone Star bowed in three of the games played away, but drew one and won two of the home-games, lost one and drew one and never played Djibouti.

Meanwhile, Group B countries include: Democratic Republic of Congo, Angola, Central African Republic, Madagascar, while Group C has Mali, Equatorial Guinea, Benin and South Sudan.

In Group D are Burkina Faso, Uganda, Botswana, Comoros and Group E have Zambia, Congo, Kenya, and Guinea Bissau, respectively.

Group F brings together Cape Verde, Morocco, Libya, and Sao Tome while Group G features Nigeria, Egypt, Tanzania, and Chad.

For Group H: Ghana, Mozambique, Rwanda, Mauritius also in Group I are Ivory Coast, Sudan, Sierra Leone, and Gabon.

In Group J are Algeria, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Seychelles and Group K has Senegal, Niger, Namibia, and Burundi.

Group L: Guinea, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Swaziland and in Group M: Cameroon, South Africa, The Gambia, and Mauritania.

By Sally Gaye 

Related Articles

Back to top button