[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

GeneralLiberia news

Senate confirms LACC nominees, But…

By Ethel A. Tweh 

The plenary of the Liberia Senate on Tuesday, 5 September 2023 unanimously voted to confirm Liberia Anti-Corruption Commission (LACC) nominees.

But the Senate plenary also mandated that ex-commissioners be compensated by the Government of Liberia.

The plenary mandated the Pro-Tempore Albert Chie to communicate its decision with the Executive Branch.

The plenary mandates that all financial obligations for the unexpired portion of the tenure of former commissioners who were not maintained on the new board of commissioners should be settled by the Ministry of Finance.

During the voting process, 14 senators voted in favor of the confirmation of the nominees, two senators abstained, and two other senators voted against their confirmation.

The LACC commissioners confirmed by plenary include Cllr. Alexandra Kormah Zoe, Chairperson; Mr. Ernest R. Hughes, Vice Chairperson; and Mr. Randolph E. Tebbs, Monitoring and Investigation.

Other confirmed officials are Miatta Jeh, Monitoring and Investigation; Atty. Samuel F. Dakana, Monitoring and Investigation; Cllr. Oretha Snyder Davis, Prosecution; and Cllr. David A.B. Wilson.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1]

It can be recalled that after the nominees’ communication was sent to the Liberian Senate, several senators, many of whom were from the opposition bloc, kicked against the appointment during the electoral process.

They argued that while the president has the constitutional right to appoint, Senators also have the power to confirm nominees.

 Senators Abraham Dillon, James Biney, Jonathan Kaipay, and Conmany Wesseh, among others, raised concerns about the timing of President George Manneh Weah’s decision to appoint the officials at this time.

They noted that it was not politically prudent to confirm nominees at tenure positions when the country was just four months away from the October 10, 2023, presidential and legislative elections at the time of their nomination.

However, some senators of the ruling party including Numene Bartekwa, Augustine Chea, Simeon Taylor, and Gbleh-bo Brown said it was more convenient for the Pro-tempore to continue the confirmation proceedings of the nominees.

The senators said once the Senate enacted a new law creating the current Commission, it gave rise to the nomination of the new Commissioners of the LACC.

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=1] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=2] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=3] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=4] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=5] [bsa_pro_ad_space id=6]
Back to top button