Below the Header Ad

Port Truckers induct new leadership

Above Article Ad

Members of the Port Truckers Association of Liberia (PTAL) have inducted a new code of officers following their recent election with call to work in accordance with by-laws and constitution of the Association for smooth and effective operations.

Rev. John E.T. Harris, an elder of the PTAL made the call during the official induction ceremony on Tuesday, 16 September held at the Association’s headquarters in the Freeport Community on Bushrod Island.

He challenged the newly inducted officials to keep in mind they are directly accountable to the entire membership in everything they do, and encouraged them to unite the body thru peaceful co-existence.

Those inducted include, Messrs. Abraham K. Kamara, President; Lasana D. Konneh, Vice President; Yaya S. Kemokai, Secretary General; James Coleman, Operations Manager; James Kesselly, Deputy Operations Manager, and Ms. Fatu S Larmin, Treasure.

Speaking subsequently, the new President of PTAL Abraham K. Kamara, expressed gratitude to the entire membership for pledging their determination to work for the development of the Association.He then dissolved the board of directors, pending constitution of a new board to work with the new leadership.

Mr. Kamara pledged the leadership commitment and dedication to implementing promises made during the political campaign for the benefit of the entire membership.Also making remarks, Madam Jackline Doe, Chairlady of the Liberia National Labor Congress reminded the officials they are leading people and not office, so they should concentrate on developing programs that would seek the wellbeing of PTAL membership.

She calls on the defeated contestants to forget the past and work along with the inducted leadership in ensuring peace and harmony in the Association irrespective of political affiliation.PTAL outgoing board chair Mr. Sekou Kamara said, while it is true that the board is dissolved, he will work along with the new leadership, pending constitution of a new board of directors. By Emmanuel Mondaye–Editing by Jonathan Browne

Related Articles

Back to top button